Eric Gregory Award


The Eric Gregory Awards, for a collection by poets under the age of 30, were founded in 1960 by the late Dr Eric Gregory for the encouragement of young poets.

  • Awards are given annually, with prize money totalling up to £24,000
  • The annual deadline for entries is 31 October.
  • The application forms for the 2014 awards will be available to download soon


Grants for works in progress: The Authors’ Foundation and the K Blundell Trust assist writers with research costs or to ‘buy time’ to write, and grants totalling over £100,000 are awarded each year.

Grants for writers in need: The Charitable Trusts provide temporary financial relief for professional authors or their dependents in sudden financial difficulty.

Suitable for

Individual poets under age of 30


31st January each year.


The Society of Authors, 84 Drayton Gardens, London, SW10 9SB


T 0207 373 6642

F 0207 373 5768